Facing The Giants

“Lord, until when do I have to be strong? I’m getting tired… and hopeless. Please help me win this battle.”

The night before I watched this movie, I was crying before God and that was my prayer. I love how creative God responds to our questions and prayers. For this instance, He used the movie “Facing the Giants” to talk to me. It was a year 2006 American Christian drama movie about a football coach who is troubled by his current situation. In many years of coaching, he has never led his team to a winning season. One day, after learning that he and his wife cannot have a child, he then discovers a group of fathers secretly planning of how to dismiss him as the head coach. He was devastated. He cries out to God in desperation…

“Lord Jesus would you help me, I need you. Lord, I feel like there’s a giant of fears and failure just staring down at me waiting to crush me. And I don’t know how to beat them Lord. I’m tired of being afraid. Lord, if you want me to do something else, show me. If you don’t want me to have children, so be it. But you’re my God. You’re on the throne. You can have my hopes and my dreams. Lord, give me something. Show me something.”

If there’s a scene in the movie which I really loved, that would be this part. It spoke to my heart so much and even made me cry imagining that it’s me and God in this scene. I’ve been crying out to God telling Him that it’s hard and hurts so much. However, He’s just there beside me telling me that He knows how much it hurts but I have to keep going. He’s shouting at me telling me that I can do it. I have to endure the pain… for in the end it would be worth it. He knows I can do it. He knows what He is doing in my life.

Psalm 37:7 says “Be still before the Lord and wait patiently for Him…”
Yes Lord, I will wait on You. And as I wait, I will give you my best… my very best.

What do you think?

