Crossing Barriers: Making Friends with the Street Children of Cebu

11.07.11
11.07.11- Trinoma Terminal, Quezon City, Manila (Taken from my old blog site)

We always see them, asking for some change, walking along the road in rugged clothes. Sometimes I find myself just watching them, thinking if they are really homeless. (Supergirl trivia #3): Since I was little, I’ve always dreamed of taking home with me a street child, give him food, bathe him and give him new clothes to wear. I grew up still having the same dream. Sometimes I take pictures of them, thinking how cute they are just to be on the streets. However, I don’t give them money. I do give food sometimes, even though I know that they need something more than that.

It was a rainy night last November 6, 2012 (a year after I took the picture of that little boy); I was reminded of my desire for these kids. I was having an alone time that night when suddenly I saw a bunch of kids playing outside the fast-food restaurant. I found myself smiling just watching them laugh and run around. I don’t know why but I felt like I was being urged to do something for them. So I prayed.

IMG_9210
12.09.12 – Jollibee, Mango Avenue, Cebu City

I was confident that time, that God will answer my prayer.
I’m not sure how. I just know He will.

Yes, that’s a picture of me holding Juliana, a two year old Badjao street child. I could feel her tiny bones as I held her. She looks very fragile and she’s very quiet too. She was not crying nor smiling. I can sense that she’s a bit scared. She’s probably wondering who this stranger is, holding her and feeding her. Her innocent eyes show her curiosity because probably, just probably, this is the first time a stranger actually did this to her. I did not mind her smell, or even her dirty feet. I believe that she’s not like the typical babies I have held in my arms because I consider her as the most special.

“Ablaze”, our high-school and college youth in church has organized an “Each One Feed One” program wherein you’ll sponsor to feed one child you’ll find on the street. God has answered my prayer! He used people to become instruments to answer my request. It was a fine Sunday afternoon when I joined ten of our young people, together with our youth pastor to take a big step of courage and do this work for Christ.

Crossing Barriers

It was actually fun, getting to know these street children and see their happy faces.  Their laughter and shy smiles are the memories we will never forget. It’s also overwhelming for me to see our young people who were willing to shell out money, and be really out of their comfort zones to be able to reach out to these kids. It was a joyful moment, hearing them tell these children the true meaning of why we celebrate Christmas and introducing them to Jesus. We are privileged, because not everyone is brave enough to do this. It’s an opportunity to show  how much God loves them. We have crossed barriers. We didn’t care what the people might say about what we’re doing. We have bridged the gap, because it was Jesus who first taught us to have a heart for these friends.

JOHN 4:7-9:
When a Samaritan woman came to draw water,
Jesus said to her, “Will you give me a drink?” (His disciples had gone into the town to buy food.)

The Samaritan woman said to Him, “You are a Jew and I am a Samaritan woman.
How can you ask me for a drink?” (For Jews do not associate with Samaritans.)

Jesus is a Jew and He initiated a conversation with a Samaritan woman. It is because of different religious beliefs that the Jews and Samaritans should not be associated with each other. But look at what Jesus did. He reached across these barriers.

IMG_9226
ABLAZE: Each One Feed One

God is teaching us to do the same. He wants us to have a heart for everyone we meet, regardless of who they are; their background or even how they talk and look like. We should learn not to think of how dirty they are in our own point of view, because we too are all unclean in God’s sight. Yet He loved us and embraced us with His mercy and grace. He is forever holy, yet he crossed the barrier of holiness and sinfulness just for you and me. He is willing to save you, and make you His own.

Are you willing to cross the barrier too?

What do you think?

