Something I Wrote 5 Years Ago

(Original Entry posted: May 21, 2008)

“WOULD YOU TELL ME PLEASE WHICH WAY I OUGHT TO WALK FROM HERE?”
“THAT DEPENDS A GOOD DEAL ON WHERE YOU WANT TO GET TO,” SAID THE CAT
“I DON’T MUCH CARE WHERE —“ SAID ALICE
“THEN IT DOESN’T MATTER WHICH WAY TO WALK,” SAID THE CAT
(FROM ALICE’S ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND)

After reading so much about what we call “self-help” books (the ones that helps you change or shape up your personality), I began to wonder what do I really want in life. I mean my career for example. How do I see myself five to six years from now? Wait. An incoming third year architecture student but still uncertain about what she wants to be? Hmm. What a waste!

Well, you see… I love my course. I love what I’m doing, including the sleepless nights (literally) just to pass a major plate on time, the nerve-wracking math subjects and the minor ones with annoying professors. Haha. Even the burden of going to school with so many things with you. Napakahirap kaya magcommute ng may t-square, tracing tube, bag – pano kung PE mo pa? At pano kung pasahan pa ng plate? (Which means you have ½ illustration boards with you) Tapos may scale model pa daw ohh. Tss. Tapos baha pa sa españa! HAHAHAHA. Oh well, that is architecture.

I seriously enjoy each and every thing we’re doing in my course. Though at times I’d end up almost crying because I can’t even think of a concept for my design and the submission is in two days time. Haha. Procrastination is loved. HAHAHA. Now, what I’m quite frustrated about are the questions, can I really do it? Do I really have a knack for it? Can I really be an architect someday? Will I be able to compete with other people whom I know is better than me in terms of drawing? In concepts? In rendering? And a lot more.

When I was a kid I used to dream of being a teacher. Most kids wanted that too. I can vividly remember myself gathering my younger sister and her friends and we’ll play “school”. I would seriously waste my time doing lesson plans and actually teach it to them. Hahaha. (Summer class?) Ilusyonada. Haha. But then as I grew up, my interests changed. (I guess I realized that I can’t be a teacher ‘coz I suck at math. HAHA. C’mon ES 2.75. Pero mahirap talaga siya. Haha.) I shifted my interests from reading books to drawing. Look, I’m not that good in drawing but still I chose this course. Why? It’s just because houses and buildings allure me. I love designing. That’s it.

When I was about nine years old, I found a magazine of houses with floor plans. What I did was, I would get something small (really small) to serve as my characters and I would play with the floor plans as if it is really a toy. Haha. From then on, I’m easily enthralled whenever I would see floor plans. Haha. I could even spend hours just playing with that – alone. Imagination nga naman. Hahaha.

When I reached high school, I gave up playing my silly game and started doing my own floor plans. I would buy graphing papers and use it ‘coz it has grid lines. And when I ran out of papers I would tear a page from my math notebook. (See, I really hate math! HAHA.) There, an instant architect wannabe. Then there came the SIMS. (I bet you know that) I really loved that computer game. Until now I still play that. Haha.

Back in my senior year in high school, I remember some of my friends asking me why I want to take up this course. They would say, “Weh. Magaling ka ba magdrawing?” or “Ano ka ba mahirap yun.” Haha. And I was like, “Thank you ah. Grabe. Na-encourage mo ako.” Hahaha. That somehow served as a motivation. I will prove them wrong. I’ll show them that I can also do it even without expert skills in drawing. I will show them what I can do. (Dapat pala nag PBB ako. HAHAHA.)

Now, as I think of how I see myself in five to six years, I’m beginning to have an end in mind. (Ooh. 7 habits. Haha.) I really want to be an architect someday. And I guess from now on I would focus more on achieving higher grades and learning more. Nothing will stop me. BWAHAHAHA. (evil laugh. :p)

I can no more do things unplanned. Like you know, just do things as they pop up. Or go with the flow. I just realized that it’s time to be more serious in life ‘coz we’re not getting any younger. Diba? It’s time to make responsible decisions. Anyway, hindi ako magpapaka-nerd or magpapaka-manang. Haha. I’ll still enjoy life, but in a more meaningful way.

An excerpt from the 7 Habits of Highly Effective Teens by Sean Covey:
“The paths you choose today can shape you forever. It’s both frightening and exciting that we have to make so many vital decisions when we’re so young and full of hormones, but such is life. Imagine an eighty-foot rope stretched out before you. Each foot represents one year of your life. Teenage hood is only seven years, such a short span of rope, but those seven years affect the remaining sixty-one, for good or bad, in such a powerful way.”

So if I ask you how do you see yourself five years from now, can you give me a certain answer?
Begin with an end in mind. It’s not actually planning every single detail of your future. But you should have a clear picture of where you want to go with your life. Set goals. As teens, we’re on the critical crossroads of life and the paths we’ll choose now can affect us FOREVER.

++++++++++
Five years later….
August 2, 2013 (Friday): Oath Taking Of New Architects at Manila Hotel

Fotor080622414
With the top 1 (lower right) & 3 (upper right)of June 2013 Architecture Licensure Exam.

Fotor080622292

Fotor0806222610
With our disciplers! ♥

Fotor0806223823

Fotor0806221845
Section 8! :)

Fotor0806223413

Fotor0806222332

Fotor0806221422
My buddy during the event. :)
Fotor0806220430
As always. One of the boys. :))

CONGRATULATIONS NEW ARCHITECTS! WE MADE IT! TO GOD BE THE GLORY! :)

***Photo Credits: Myra Bansale, Tin Gimenez, Dindz Bulan, Erwin Bonavente

What do you think?

