I Don’t Just FALL. I CHOOSE.

Over the past week, my thoughts have been filled with random ideas about love. (Kelan ba hindi? Hahaha!) — Like how I’ve been seeing the phrase “I fell in love with you” so frequently than usual over the past couple of days. FELL? Seriously, why did we even come up with that phrase if we can just say “I’m in love with you”? What does the word “fall” really impress in our minds every time we hear it?

FALL (/fôl/): “Typically rapidly and freely without control; sudden uncontrollable descent”

For some reason, I didn’t quite like the meaning of “fall” in relation to love when I tried to look it up in the dictionary. I mean, I don’t think that is actually true. Do we really just fall in love? Or we actually learn to love the person unknowingly?

LEARN (/lərn/): “Gain or acquire knowledge of or skill in (something) by study, experience, or being taught; to commit to memory”

In reality, you don’t just fall in love with a person. By experience (HAHA), you show interest first, you invest your time and effort to find out more about him/her, and as you get to know more you are actually learning to love the person. It’s a process we are not always aware of. I was asked, “Isn’t it better to hear ‘I fell in love with you’ than ‘I learned to love you’? Good point I must say. I think it’s because we got so used to it that’s why the whole essence was lost. However, I gave a different response. I answered, “I’d like it better if it would be: I CHOOSE to love you”.

CHOOSE (/CHo͞oz/): “Pick out or select (someone or something) as being the best or most appropriate of two or more alternatives; decide on a course of action, typically after rejecting alternatives”

Choosing to love someone is probably the sweetest and bravest decision a person could ever make. When you say you choose to love the person, you’re actually saying that you are to make that choice everyday – yes, not only on that moment but every single day of your life. No matter what happens. Even if you’ll be disappointed or even hurt at times because of him/her, your choice will not change.

Going back to the meaning of the 2 words, which one would you now prefer? When you CHOOSE, you are rejecting alternatives. When you FALL, it could change because you have no control over it.

———- Yesterday, I prepared a short activity for my small group. I gave them a piece of paper instructing them to create a scenario pretending that God asked them out for a “date”. I want to know how they think their conversation would go. Would they be comfortable, sitting there in front of a very important man? Would He be happy and proud of the stories they will tell Him? Would He be disappointed? Will they cry? Would they have that courage to tell Him the things they know would disappoint Him?

111

I am proud of my girls, being very creative and honest with their answers. Camille shared that she knows He will be very disappointed. Dana told us she would cry. Celine said He would probably say, “It’s nice to finally meet you.” I smile as I hear each one share about how they think about what God does really think of them. Most were about our failures, sins and disappointments. But even then, I’m glad to hear that even though they have done a lot of things that would upset Him, they are aware that He still loves them… so much. :)

I gave them tiny letters (hahaha), telling them that as their discipler, I want to remind and assure them of something:

222

Romans 8:1 “There is no condemnation now for those who live in union with Christ Jesus.”

Isn’t it nice to know this truth? That once we have made a personal relationship with Christ, we can be certain that God will never turn His back on us? He will never say, “Ayan kasi. Di ka nakikineg sakin. Yan tuloy.” He is not mad. He is just waiting for you with His arms wide open saying, “I’m here now. Everything will be fine.” He will never bring up your past mistakes and use it against you.

Romans: 4: 7-8 “Happy are those whose wrongs are forgiven, whose sins are pardoned! Happy is the person whose sins the Lord will not keep account of!”

You don’t have to be shy to come to Him anymore because of His promise. You have been redeemed and made new because you have accepted to receive Jesus Christ as your personal Lord and Savior. You are a new creation. And you know what the best part is? It’s not because of what you do for Him but because of what He did for you. It’s because of His grace. Yes, His amazing grace.

Romans 11: 6 “…For if God’s choice were based on what people do, then His grace would not be real grace.”

God chose to extend His grace to me and you. That is how much He loves us.

Romans 5:8 “But God has shown us how much He loves us – it was while we were still sinners that Christ died for us!”

God didn’t just FELL in love with you. He CHOSE to love you. Yes, even if He’s aware that you may not choose Him. I’ve read a blog few days ago and let me just share a few lines (which I have paraphrased) talking about HIS love. (Original Post)

“God’s love is beautiful enough to design the mountains and rivers for your admiration. He is passionate enough to allow His son to die for you. He is interested enough in you to sell off the whole world for you. He even wrote down His entire love story for you — a love letter thousands of pages long, just so you would know Him and fall in love with Him. He’s in love with you even before first sight. And He stopped at nothing – not even death to show you how much He wants you.

He’s just waiting for you to fall in love back.”

I ended our session making them listen to one of Kari Jobe’s songs. I told them to reflect on it. It is my prayer that this song would really be the cry of our hearts – that we are in love with Him. I want the four of us to CHOOSE to fall in love with Jesus more and more. And I want the same for you. We may be experiencing pain and sufferings but I want you to know that God loves you so much. He is not so far during your broken moments. He is just right there, beside you and telling you, “You are experiencing this because this is how much I love you my child.” He knows that this will make us learn and realize that He is real.

God is so in love with you. Will you CHOOSE to love Him too?

What do you think?

