Love for “Change”

People often say, “I want some changes in my life”. We’re tired. We’re sick of how it seems like everything feels like a routine. We feel hopeless and long for something to come up and change everything. Even I, myself is struggling with that desire for something different from time to time. It’s normal. In fact, that is reality.

I have always believed that significant life change is not an overnight thing. I always dismiss in my head the movie-like scenarios where you experience something extra-ordinary and tadaa — “my life has never been the same way before”. I believe that it requires a lot of effort, patience and time. Genuine life change is a product of hardwork and determination. It is more than just a decision. It is a commitment. Now, the question is where do you start when you long for that “change” to happen in your life?

Significant life change is not possible unless you have a clear picture of what you want to happen. You can’t just simply say, “I want some changes in my life”. What kind of change? You have to define it. Set an end product. Know the reason why you want it. Ask yourself questions and don’t leave those questions hanging. Find answers to it.

I used to ask myself, “What is my main purpose as a human being?” I mean, if I want significant life change then I must know the things I need to prioritize. How can I work on re-constructing my life if I’m missing out the most important thing to be done as a human? What are we really supposed to do with our lives? I don’t think we were created just to grow up, finish school, find a job, have a family and simply die. There should be something more than that.

“You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the greatest and first commandment.” (Matthew 22:37-38)

Love God. That’s the greatest commandment? Are you sure that’s it? Isn’t it too simple to be the greatest command? Well, the answer is yes. Loving God should be the first on our to-do list as human beings. Having the “change” you want to happen in your life involves loving God. No matter what it is you want to achieve at the end of it, it will never become significant unless you do the greatest commandment given to us as humans. Love God, when things are going fine. Love God, even if we don’t understand what’s happening around us. Love God every day and every moment. Love Him with every breath you take.

The way you love God depends on the God you know. If you don’t know much about Him, what things can you say to prove that you love Him? The Bible tells us everything about God. I’m not sure what kind of religious background you have, but regardless of whatever differences we may have, let’s live our lives based on what the Bible says for it is the word of God. :)

Stay in love with Him. He will make the “changes” happen. Someday soon. Yes, someday soon…

What do you think?

