Shadows

Words are not enough to describe the emotions the universe has put me through. It has always been a constant battle between thoughts; between me and my playful mind. I’ve been living my life in two dimensions. I’ve been travelling back and forth so much between the past and the future that I forgot what it’s like to live in the present. I keep running. I keep chasing. And the more I do that, the more I die every day. I needed something to make me feel alive.

IMG_20140618_002246_20140618002518840

We all long for serenity, peace, and calmness. We search for beauty. We look for something that will give purpose and meaning to our lives. We want to find the unknown. We’re surrounded by mystery. We search for the answers secretly engraved in the deepest corners of our hearts. So we want to escape the busy life and forget even for a while the world and its lies. And most of the time, we find ourselves embracing the positive effect of being so close to nature.

Our inner desire to be in touch with nature is our soul’s expression of our deepest longing for our Creator.

What we don’t know is that everything we look for, everything we long for, the serenity, the peace, the calmness, God can give it all. The beauty we seek, the meaning to life, the answers to our questions, He can give it all. Because He is good. He is beautiful. He is God.

This world is in chaos and sometimes we just want to take a break from everything and rest. Don’t worry, He will give us rest. “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)

—–

I closed my eyes as I gathered these thoughts and listened to the sound of the waves. I memorized the rhythm of the trees on the shore as I replicate at the back of my mind the images formed by the clouds. I paused everything. I wanted to remember every single detail that I’m seeing at that moment. I smiled. And before I knew it, I was living in the present.

What do you think?

