Catching Waves

I’ve done surfing a few times, and I must say that I pretty much liked it. Standing on the board even just for a few seconds is one of the best feelings in the world. The first time I was able to do it, I just want to keep on doing it all over again, and I didn’t care how much pain my body would endure after all the chaos just to get up on that surfing board. But getting it right is no easy task. Aside from pushing yourself up and stand on your feet right away when your cue is on, I guess the hardest part really is catching the wave. And by that, I mean catching it right.

I’ve tried keeping up with a series of waves in my lifetime. Some I survived, some are… well, let’s just say I’m still paddling really hard to get a good catch of it. There are waves I was able to overcome on my own but there were also moments I needed help from other people. Looking back, I realized that catching waves is actually a tool for growth of relationships. And at this point, I find myself having fun doing it with a very special person.

Our story is not a typical boy meets girl. It’s not as charming like how we’ve always envisioned it to be. It’s also not as cliché we see nowadays. In fact, it’s a weird one, in an interesting way. It’s God’s answer to our request. Yet I know it’s not yet done. It’s still a work in progress.

Knowing him for about one and a half year already, made me learn a lot not only about love but also paved a way for me to know myself better and the life I’m trying to live. He will always remind me of God’s goodness in my life. He’s the reason why I learned that choosing love is actually a difficult task. At our age, 26 and 27, gone were the days we look at love as something that is superficially beautiful. Because real love does not only mean beautiful things but also involves a lot of messy and ugly parts. And trust me when I say that because many times I tried to shut off my emotions just so I can stop choosing love and choose other things instead like my pride, my selfish desires, or even just simply choose myself.

When times get tough and I find it difficult to choose love, I choose Christ. However, there are times when I struggle to do both, but he will always be there to remind me to go back to my roots and restart if I needed to. On some days that he would feel a little bit overwhelmed by the stress of this life, I choose to be there and remind him of how God allows us to be in a specific point in our life for a purpose. When misunderstanding and arguments arise, many times we allow our emotions to rule over. Our anger, disappointment and frustrations control us. But I’m thankful that at the end of the day, we still choose Christ over our circumstances.

We will always fail. But God’s grace is new everyday and I pray that we will take hold of that grace until it seeps through our soul and overflow from us. We have our limits, but God is enough. And I know God has a purpose of why I have him at this point in my life. I know I can have all the courage to stand up on my surfboard no matter how wobbly it may seem, simply because I know he is there waiting for the next wave and say to me, “Surf’s up!”

I’m ready to catch more waves with you.

Catching Waves

[1:22 am]

What do you think?

